Coinbase vs eToro 2022 – Gebühren, Funktionen, Sicherheit im Vergleich

Auf den ersten Blick dürften Coinbase und eToro nicht allzu viel gemeinsam haben und werden nicht allzu oft im gleichen Satz erwähnt werden. Das eine ist der führende Einstieg in die Welt der Kryptowährung und das andere ist eine bekannte Plattform für den Handel mit verschiedenen Arten von Finanzprodukten und Derivaten.

Aber hier liegt der gemeinsame Nenner: Finanzielle Assets aller Art sind für eToro interessant. Folglich sind digitale Assets wie Bitcoin und andere Kryptowährungen ebenfalls von Interesse für eToro, das sich Ende 2018 und Anfang 2019 in diese neue finanzielle Vertikale verzweigt hat. Und nach den angekündigten Plänen und den eingeführten Produkten (eToroX Börse und eToro Wallet) zu urteilen, werden sie eine noch größere Rolle in der entstehenden Blockchain-Branche spielen.

Coinbase braucht kaum vorgestellt zu werden: Es ist DER Ort, die beliebteste Krypto Börse, an den sich Neulinge wenden, um ihre erste Krypto Börse zu kaufen und die magische Welt der Kryptowährungen zu betreten.

Nach all dem ist es also nur folgerichtig, diese beiden Plattformen miteinander zu vergleichen, da sich ihre Wege bereits gekreuzt haben und sich, wie ich vermute, in Zukunft noch häufiger begegnen werden.

Das Fazit vorweg:

Wer sollte eToro vs. Coinbase nutzen?

eToro eignet sich am besten für regelmäßige Händler und Anleger, die keine besondere Bindung zu den Kryptowährungen an sich haben und denen es egal ist, ob sie tatsächliche Coins besitzen oder nicht. eToro ist eine einfache, sichere und funktionsreiche Möglichkeit, sich in dieser neuen Asset-Klasse zu engagieren. Es ist auch gut für diejenigen, die sowohl mit Aktien (traditioneller Aktienhandel ist in den USA nicht verfügbar) als auch mit Krypto von einem Ort aus handeln möchten.

Coinbase eignet sich am besten für Krypto-Neulinge, die Zugang zu echten Krypto-Coins haben und diese Währungen auf der Ethereum-Blockchain oder an anderen dezentralen Börsen verwenden möchten. Coinbase motiviert auch neue Investoren, Krypto über ihr Coinbase Earn, eine einfach zu bedienende Anwendung und erstklassige Sicherheit zu lernen und zu verdienen.

75 % der CFD-Konten von Privatkunden verlieren Geld.

eToro vs Coinbase: Allgemeine Informationen

Wie wir bereits erwähnt haben, sind Coinbase und eToro keine klassischen Kryptowährungs-Börsen, sondern eher Krypto-Broker, die den Kauf von Krypto erleichtern. eToro bietet auch Trading an, während Coinbase dies über seine Coinbase Pro-Erweiterung tut.

 ETOROCOINBASE
FeaturesCopy trading portfolios; access to residents of over 140 countries; simple-to-use mobile app, numerous payment methodsEasy-to-use mobile app; buy, sell, and trade crypto; store crypto in Coinbase Wallet
Fees0.75–5% spread fee for buying and selling crypto; no commissions or fees for deposits; $5 withdrawal fee 0.50% per trade; additional 1.49% for bank account or Coinbase Wallet purchases; additional 3.99% for debit or credit card purchases; $10 deposit; $25 withdrawal fee for wire transfers
Cryptocurrencies supported18 cryptocurrencies50+ cryptocurrencies
Security features2FA via SMS only; cold storage of crypto; USD balances FDIC insured up to $250K; KYC requirements for access; biometric access2FA via SMS or Google Authenticator app; cold storage and multi-signature wallets; USD balances FDIC insured up to $250K; KYC and anti-money laundering protections
Types of transactionsBuy, Sell; limit orders; stop loss; trailer stop loss; take profit trade; margin trading (not available in the U.S.)Buy, Sell, Exchange, Send, Receive

Coinbase  wurde 2012 in San Francisco, Kalifornien, gegründet. Als ein in den Vereinigten Staaten tätiges Unternehmen ist Coinbase verpflichtet, die US-Gesetze und -Vorschriften einzuhalten, einschließlich der Geldüberweisungsgesetze und -vorschriften der Bundesstaaten, der USA Patriot Act, den Bank Secrecy Act, und ist bei FinCEN als Gelddienstleistungsunternehmen registriert. Diese Gesetze und Vorschriften zwingen Coinbase zur Rechenschaftspflicht. Dies ist etwas, das bei einigen ihrer Offshore-Konkurrenten in anderen Ländern mit weniger strengen Vorschriften fehlen kann. Es wird weithin als eine derbesten Krypto Börsen auf dem Markt angesehen.

Seit seinem Start im Jahr 2006 hat sich eToro zu einer multinationalen Sensation entwickelt und ist heute in über 140 Ländern aktiv.

eToro ist eine gut etablierte Finanz- und soziale Trading-Plattform, die eine breite Palette von Finanz-Trading-Diensten anbietet. Sie haben ihr Angebot um Kryptowährungen mit einigen einzigartigen Vorteilen wie gebührenfreiem Trading und Margenhandel erweitert. Es ist auch einer der wenigen Dienste, bei dem Sie Krypto mit PayPal kaufen können. eToro wird von der Financial Conduct Authority (FCA), der Cyprus Securities and Exchange Commission (CySEC), der Markets In Financial Instruments Directive (MiFID) und der Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC) reguliert.

Ein wichtiger Hinweis: eToro verkauft Ihnen sowohl CFDs als auch echte Coins. Es erlaubt Ihnen, mit CFDs auf den Preis zu spekulieren, indem es Ihnen Schuldscheine anstelle von echten Coins gibt. Wenn Sie also in diesem Fall Bitcoin von eToro abheben möchten, müssen Sie es für Fiat-Währung verkaufen, dieses Fiat-Geld abheben und zu einer anderen Krypto Börse gehen, um „den echten Bitcoin“ zu kaufen. Wenn Sie sich dafür entscheiden, echte Coins zu kaufen, gelten die gleichen Regeln für die Abhebung wie bei jeder anderen Börse.

eToro vs Coinbase-Gebühren

Coinbase berechnet etwa 3,99 % für Käufe per Kredit-/Debitkarte und 1,49 % für Käufe per Banküberweisung.

Purchase MethodCoinbase Fees
U.S. Bank Account1.49%
($0.15 minimum)
Coinbase Wallet (U.S. Dollars)1.49%
Credit Card or Debit Card3.99%

Obwohl eToro keine Handelsgebühren für das Eröffnen oder Schließen von Geschäften erhebt, berechnet es einen Spread, der je nach Instrument variiert, z.B. 0,75% für Bitcoin (BTC) und bis zu 3,45% für bestimmte Handelspaare, wie ZEC/ZHF.

Nachstehend finden Sie die Gebührenstruktur beider Plattformen:

FeeseToroCoinbase
Bank accountFree1.49%
WalletFree 1.49% 
Debit/credit cardsFree 3.99%
ACH transferFree Free 
Wire transferFree $10 deposit, $25 withdrawal
Purchases0.75% to 5%0% to 0.50%
Trades0.75% to 5% 0.50%
Other fees None$0.99 to $2.99 based on the amount

Rücktrittsgebühren

eToro erhebt eine pauschale Abhebungsgebühr von $5, während Einzahlungen kostenlos sind. Coinbase erhebt eine geringe Abhebungsgebühr für SEPA-Abhebungen und eine Gebühr von $25 für Überweisungen.

Kauflimits

Coinbase auf der Website von Coinbase sind die Limits für neue Nutzer nicht klar definiert. Stattdessen können die Limits je nach Land, Kontoverifizierung, Kaufhistorie und Kontolalter variieren. Um höhere Limits zu beantragen, müssen Sie Ihre Identität verifizieren. Sobald Sie dies getan haben, kann ein vollständig verifizierter US-Bürger bis zu 50.000 $ pro Woche transferieren, während verifizierte Kunden aus der EU jederzeit maximal 30.000 $ auf ihrem Konto haben können. Sie können ihre Limits über ihr Konto überprüfen.

Es gibt keine Obergrenzen, wie viel Sie kaufen können, aber es gibt einen Mindesteinzahlungsbetrag, den Sie bei eToro einzahlen müssen. Sie müssen $200 haben, um am CopyTrading teilzunehmen und eine Mindestinvestition von $5.000 für CopyPortfolios tätigen. Die Mindestmengen für manuelle Positionen hängen vom jeweiligen Instrument ab. Für Währungen (z.B. Kryptowährungen) und Rohstoffe sind es nur $25 (oder $50, wenn Sie aus den USA kommen). Für Aktien sind es 50 $. Für ETFs und Indizes sind es 200 $.

Unterstützte Länder

Coinbase bedient Kunden in den folgenden Ländern:

Australien, Österreich, Belgien, Bulgarien, Kanada, Kroatien, Zypern, Tschechische Republik, Dänemark, Finnland, Griechenland, Ungarn, Irland, Italien, Jersey, Lettland, Liechtenstein, Malta, Monaco, Niederlande, Norwegen, Polen, Portugal, San Marino, Singapur, Slowakei, Slowenien, Spanien, Schweden, Schweiz, Vereinigtes Königreich und die Vereinigten Staaten.

eToro ist in den meisten Ländern der Welt verfügbar, mit Ausnahme von Kanada, Kuba, Japan, Nordkorea, Iran, Syrien, Türkei, Serbien, Albanien und Sudan.

Unterstützte Coins

Zurzeit sind Coins auf der Nicht-Pro-Schnittstelle aufgelistet: BitcoinBitcoin Cash, Ethereum, Ethereum Classic, USD Coin, XRP, Stellar, Zcash, 0x, Litecoin, und der Basic Attention Token.

Als Multi-Asset-Brokerage ermöglicht eToro den Nutzern den Handel mit Tausenden von Finanzinstrumenten, darunter über ein Dutzend Krypto-Währungen (alle wichtigen Coins wie Bitcoin, ETH, XRP, IOTA, EOS, XLM, ADA, EOS usw.). Basierend auf dem Konzept des Social Trading ist eToro so konzipiert, dass es sowohl für neue als auch für erfahrene Trader geeignet ist.

Einzahlungs- und Abhebungsmethoden

Coinbase bietet 3 Zahlungsmöglichkeiten an: Debitkarte, Bankkonto oder Banküberweisung. In dieser Anleitung werden wir den Kauf mit einer Debitkarte oder mit einem Bankkonto behandeln.
Was die Auszahlungsmethoden betrifft, so haben Sie eine zusätzliche Möglichkeit, Ihr Geld von Coinbase zu erhalten, indem Sie PayPal verwenden.

Unter den Kryptowährungsplattformen hebt sich eToro als eine der wenigen Plattformen ab, die Nutzern die Möglichkeit bieten, Kryptowährungen über PayPal in Kombination mit verschiedenen anderen Zahlungsoptionen zu kaufen. Andere Ein- und Auszahlungsoptionen sind: Überweisung (Swift und SEPA), PayPal, Rapid Transfer, iDeal, Klarna/Sofort Banking, Giropay, Skrill, Neteller, Kreditkarte.

Kundenbetreuung

Der Coinbase-Kundensupport wird per E-Mail abgewickelt, und nach unseren persönlichen Erfahrungen haben wir in der Regel innerhalb von 24-72 Stunden eine Antwort vom Support erhalten. Sie haben auch eine umfangreiche FAQ für allgemeine Fragen.

eToro verfügt über ein gründliches Hilfezentrum, das grundlegende Informationen zum Trading sowie Antworten auf die häufigsten Benutzerprobleme bietet. Darüber hinaus bietet eToro nur ein einfaches Ticketsystem für die meisten seiner Nutzerbeschwerden und die Antworten sind oft langsam. Neben den traditionellen Support-Linien beantwortet eToro Kundenanfragen auch über soziale Medien. Als einsteigerfreundliche Plattform bietet eToro auch eine Vielzahl von Schulungsmaterialien und Kundensupport für die Nutzer an, um sicherzustellen, dass Hilfe zur Hand ist, wenn sie benötigt wird.

Vertrauen und Reputation

Coinbase genießt als registriertes und reguliertes Unternehmen mit bekannten VCs als Investoren, einem transparenten Team und einer makellosen Erfolgsbilanz (mit kleineren, anekdotischen Beschwerden einzelner Kunden) einen ausgezeichneten Ruf und Vertrauen.

Coinbase ist ein Bitcoin-Unternehmen mit Sitz in San Francisco, was bedeutet, dass es verpflichtet ist, die US-Gesetze und -Vorschriften sowohl auf Bundes- als auch auf Staatsebene einzuhalten.

  • Es erfüllt die staatlichen Geldüberweisungsgesetze und -vorschriften.
  • Es erfüllt den USA Patriot Act.
  • Es erfüllt den Bank Secrecy Act.
  • Es ist bei FinCEN als Gelddienstleister registriert.

Als regulierte Plattform unterliegt eToro den höchsten Standards der Verantwortlichkeit und Transparenz und ist lizenziert, seine Dienstleistungen in weiten Teilen der Welt anzubieten. Derzeit wird eToro von der Cyprus Securities & Exchange Commission (CySEC) reguliert.

Coinbase oder eToro: Sicherheit

Coinbase trennt die Kundengelder von den Betriebsgeldern des Unternehmens.  Diese Kundengelder werden auf Bankkonten verwahrt.  Das bedeutet, dass sie Ihre Gelder nicht für den Betrieb ihres Unternehmens verwenden.  Sie behaupten außerdem: „Selbst wenn Coinbase zahlungsunfähig werden sollte, könnten die auf den Depotkonten gehaltenen Gelder nicht von Coinbase oder seinen Gläubigern eingefordert werden.  Die auf diesen Konten gehaltenen Gelder würden an die Kunden von Coinbase zurückgegeben werden können.“

98% der Kundengelder in Kryptowährungen werden in einem sicheren Offline Cold Storage aufbewahrt.  Diese Kryptowährungen werden auf mehreren Hardware Wallets und Papier-Wallets gehalten. Die physischen Wallets für Kryptowährungen werden dann in Tresoren und Bankschließfächern auf der ganzen Welt aufbewahrt. Diese Maßnahmen schützen die Gelder der Kunden vor Verlust oder Diebstahl durch Hacker.

Der verbleibende Teil der Kryptowährung, der online aufbewahrt wird, ist vollständig durch ein Konsortium von Lloyd’s of London versichert.

In Bezug auf die Cybersicherheit ist die EToro Plattform extrem sicher und hatte noch nie Probleme mit Hackerangriffen oder Verlusten von Benutzergeldern. eToro trifft auch Vorsichtsmaßnahmen, um die Sicherheit der Gelder und persönlichen Informationen der Kunden zu gewährleisten. Traditionelle Fonds bleiben in europäischen Banken der Stufe 1 sicher.

Bei all dem sollten Sie bedenken, dass es für Kryptowährungen keine Vorschriften gibt. Wenn Sie also mit Kryptowährungen handeln oder in andere Krypto-Investitionen investieren, gibt es im Vereinigten Königreich oder in Zypern keine Versicherung durch die Anlegerentschädigungssysteme. Das Fehlen von Vorschriften bedeutet auch, dass Sie sich im Falle einer Beschwerde nicht an Ihren Finanz-Ombudsmann wenden können.

Trotzdem ist eToro stolz darauf, Probleme so nahtlos wie möglich zu lösen. Darüber hinaus gibt es zahlreiche soziale Plattformen, auf denen Sie Beschwerden registrieren können, die andere Nutzer beeinflussen können.

Andere Merkmale

Coinbase hat ein schnelles Wachstum erlebt und ist in verschiedene Bereiche der Kryptowährung vorgedrungen, wobei die meisten ihrer neuen Dienstleistungen auf institutionelle Kunden ausgerichtet sind. Diese neuen Dienste sind Coinbase Custody, Coinbase Prime, Coinbase Staking.

Darüber hinaus hat Coinbase ihre Coinbase Pro-Plattform für Daytrader und ihre eigene Wallet, die auch ein Web3.0-Browser ist.

eToro ist, wie wir bereits erwähnt haben, eine umfassende Plattform für das Trading von Finanzprodukten aller Art. Ihre Krypto-Abteilung ist gewachsen und umfasst die eToroX Börse und die eToro Wallet, zwei separate Produkte zur Hauptplattform von eToro.

eToros Investitionsprodukt der nächsten Generation, CopyPortfolio, ist auch eine Funktion, die auf keiner anderen Kryptowährungsplattform zu finden ist. CopyPortfolios ermöglichen es eToro Nutzern, einfach in Portfolios von Top-Händlern zu investieren, so dass sie die Trades der besten Händler auf der Website kopieren können. eToro Nutzer, die in ein CopyPortfolio investieren, lassen eToro ihr Kapital professionell verwalten und vermeiden das Rätselraten beim Trading.

Darüber hinaus bietet eToro auch eine einzigartige soziale Funktion an, die als CopyTrading bekannt ist und es den Benutzern ermöglicht, automatisch die Trades anderer erfolgreicher Händler auf der Grundlage bestimmter Bedingungen zu kopieren.

Derzeit bietet eToro auch Margin Trading an und ermöglicht seinen Nutzern den Handel mit Kryptowährungen mit bis zu 2-facher Hebelwirkung.

eToro vs Coinbase: VORTEILE und NACHTEILE

Coinbase Vorteile

  • Exzellenter Ruf
  • FDIC-versichert
  • Einfach zu bedienen
  • Sehr sicher
  • Akzeptiert Kredit-/Debitkarten

Coinbase Nachteile

  • Langsamer Kundensupport
  • Beschränkte Währungen verfügbar

eToro Vorteile

  • Gut gestaltete Oberfläche
  • Vertrauenswürdig & Sicher
  • Vielfalt an Optionen
  • Große Auswahl an Märkten

eToro Nachteile

  • Keine Einlagen in Kryptowährungen
  • Nicht viele Kryptowährungen
  • Die Assets werden nicht gehalten

75 % der CFD-Konten von Privatkunden verlieren Geld.

Auch lesen:

eToro oder Coinbase: Fazit

Wer gewinnt also den Kampf zwischen eToro und Coinbase?

  • In Bezug auf die Gebühren – eToro ist nominell kostenlos, aber sie berechnen Ihnen einen Spread und verdienen auf diese Weise Geld. Coinbase erhebt ziemlich hohe Gebühren, aber nicht alle dieser Gebühren gehen an sie, sondern an die Drittanbieterdienste, die Sie zur Finanzierung Ihres Coinbase-Kontos verwenden (zum Beispiel Visa und Mastercad). Wenn Sie vorhaben, viel zu handeln, ist eToro billiger.
  • In Bezug auf die unterstützten Währungen – fast ein komplettes Unentschieden, da beide etwa 15 Coins auf ihren Hauptplattformen gelistet haben. Coinbase Pro und eToroX werden viel mehr Coins aufgelistet haben.
  • In Bezug auf die Einhaltung von Vorschriften und die Lizenzierung: beide sind legitime und gut regulierte Unternehmen mit einem leichten Vorteil für Coinbase, die mehrere Schichten der regulatorischen Sicherheit hat.
  • In Bezug auf den Kundensupport: Beide sind von ähnlicher Qualität, also ist es ein Unentschieden.
  • Wenn es um die Sicherheit im Kampf eToro gegen Coinbase geht: Beide sind erstklassig, also ist es ein weiteres Unentschieden.
  • Handelsfunktionen: eToro gewinnt eindeutig, da es eine fortschrittlichere Charting-Schnittstelle mit Margin-Handel, sozialem Handel und anderen Copy-Trading-Funktionen hat.
  • Gesamtreputation: ein weiteres Unentschieden, da beide einen ziemlich guten Ruf in der Krypto-Community genießen, mit sporadischen Beschwerden von einzelnen Kunden.

Wenn Ihnen keine dieser Börsen zusagt, finden Sie hier eine Liste möglicher Alternativen:Cex.io,Binance, Changelly, Bitpanda, Bitfinex, PrimeXBT, PrimeBit, Deribit. Seit Februar 2020 hat, Coinbase Pro angekündigt, auch in den Bereich des Margin Trading einzusteigen.

Wenn Sie Coinbase mit anderen Börsen vergleichen wollen, werfen Sie einen Blick auf unsere Anleitungen, in denen wir genau das tun:

intelligent crypto
How are  regular people making returns of as much as 70% in a year with no risk?  By properly setting up a FREE Pionex grid bot - click the button to learn more.
Crypto arbitration still works like a charm, if you do it right! Check out Bitsgap, leading crypto arbitrage bot to learn the best way of doing it.

CaptainAltcoin's writers and guest post authors may or may not have a vested interest in any of the mentioned projects and businesses. None of the content on CaptainAltcoin is investment advice nor is it a replacement for advice from a certified financial planner. The views expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of CaptainAltcoin.com

Torsten Hartmann

Torsten Hartmann

Torsten Hartmann has been an editor in the CaptainAltcoin team since August 2017. He holds a degree in politics and economics. He gained professional experience as a PR for a local political party before moving to journalism. Since 2017, he has pivoted his career towards blockchain technology, with principal interest in applications of blockchain technology in politics, business and society.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

CaptainAltcoin
Logo

Coinbase vs eToro 2020 – Fees, Features, Security Compared

On first sight, Coinbase and eToro should not have too much in common and won’t be mentioned in the same sentence too often. One is the leading on-ramp into the world of cryptocurrency and the other is a well-known platform for trading different kinds of financial products and derivatives.

But there lies the common denominator: financial assets of all kind are interesting to eToro. Consequently, digital assets like bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies are also subject of interest to eToro that branched out into this new financial vertical in late 2018 and early 2019. And judging by their announced plans and launched products (eToroX exchange and eToro wallet), they are going to play even bigger role in the nascent blockchain industry.

Coinbase needs little introduction: it is THE place, the most popular crypto exchange, where newcomers go to buy their first crypto and enter the magic world of cryptocurrencies.

So, having said all of this, it is a natural sequence of events to compare these two platforms as their paths have crossed already and I have hunch are gonna meet each other ever more frequently in the future.

eToro vs Coinbase: General info

Coinbase was launched in 2012 in San Francisco, California. As a company operating in the United States, Coinbase is required to comply with U.S. laws and regulations, including state money transmission laws and regulations, the USA Patriot Act, the Bank Secrecy Act, and is registered with FinCEN as a Money Services Business. These laws and regulations force accountability onto Coinbase. This is something that may be lacking from some of their offshore competitors in other countries with less strict regulations. It is widely considered as one of the best crypto exchanges in the market.

Since its launch in 2006, eToro has become a multinational sensation and is now active in over 140 countries.

eToro is a well established financial platform offering a wide range of financial trading services. They have expanded their offering to include crypto currencies with some unique benefits such as fee-less trading and margin trading. It is also one of the rare services where you can buy crypto with PayPal.

One important note: eToro sells you both CFDs or actual coins. With CFDs, it allows you to speculate on their price by giving you IOUs instead of real coin. So in that case, if you want to withdraw bitcoin from eToro, you need to sell it for fiat currency, withdraw that fiat money and go to some other crypto exchange to buy “the real bitcoin”. If you choose to buy actual coins, then same rules of withdrawal apply like with any other exchange.

eToro vs Coinbase: Fees

Coinbase charges around 3.99% for credit/debit card purchases and 1.49% for bank transfer purchases.

Purchase MethodCoinbase Fees
U.S. Bank Account1.49%
($0.15 minimum)
Coinbase Wallet (U.S. Dollars)1.49%
Credit Card or Debit Card3.99%

Although eToro does not charge any fees for opening or closing trades, it does charge a spread that varies depending on the instrument, e.g. 0.75% for Bitcoin (BTC) and up to 3.45% for certain trading pairs, such as ZEC/ZHF.

In addition to this eToro charges a flat $25 payout fee while deposits are free.

Buying Limits

Coinbase does not clearly define limits for new users on their site. Instead, limits can vary depending on your country, account verification, buying history, and account age. To apply for higher limits you will have to verify your identity. Once you do, a fully verified US residents can transaction up to $50,000 per week, while verified customers from EU may have a maximum of $30,000 in their account at any time. You can check their limits through their account.

There are no upper limits how much you can buy but there is a minimum deposit amount you need to put in on eToro. You must have $200 to participate in CopyTrading and make a minimum investment of $5,000 for CopyPortfolios. The minimum quantities for manual positions are based on the instrument. For currencies (such as cryptocurrencies) and commodities, it is just $25 (or $50 if you are from the US). For stocks, it is $50. Finally, for ETFs and indices, it is $200.

Supported Countries

Coinbase serves customers in the following countries:


3 times faster and countless times more private than Google Chrome - check out Brave Browser (+ earn some money by simply using it)


Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Jersey, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom and the United States.

eToro is available in the majority of the globe, with the exemption of Canada, Cuba, Japan, North Korea, Iran, Syria, Turkey, Serbia, Albania, and Sudan.

Supported coins

Currently, coins listed on its non-Pro interface include BitcoinBitcoin Cash, Ethereum, Ethereum Classic, USD Coin, XRP, Stellar, Zcash, 0x, Litecoin, and the Basic Attention Token.

As a multi-asset brokerage, eToro allows users to trade thousands of financial instruments, including over a dozen crypto currencies (all major coins such as Bitcoin, ETH, XRP, IOTA, EOS, XLM, ADA, EOS etc). Based on the concept of social trading, eToro is designed to be suitable for both new and experienced traders.

Deposit and Withdrawal methods

Coinbase offers 3 payment methods: Debit card, bank account, or wire transfer. In this guide we will cover purchasing with a debit card or with a bank account.
As for withdrawal methods – you have one additional way to get your money from Coinbase by using PayPal.

Among crypto currency platforms, eToro stands out as one of the few platforms that offer users the ability to purchase crypto currencies via PayPal in combination with various other payment options. Other deposit and withdrawal options include: wire transfer (Swift and SEPA), Giropay, Skrill, Neteller, Credit Card.

Customer Support

Coinbase customer support is handled through email, and in our personal experiences, we’ve typically received responses from support within 24-72 hours. They also have an extensive FAQ for general questions.

eToro has a thorough help center that provides basic information about trading as well as answers to the most common user problems. In addition, eToro only offers a simple ticket system for the majority of its user complaints and the answers are often slow. Beyond the traditional support lines, eToro also answers customer queries via social media. As a beginner-friendly platform, eToro also offers a variety of training materials and customer support for users, ensuring that help is at hand when it’s needed.


Read our comprehensive guide on best cryptocurrency exchanges.


Trust and reputation

Coinbase enjoys an excellent reputation and trust as a registered and regulated company with well-known VCs as investors, transparent team and immaculate track record (with minor, anecdotal complaints from individual customers).

Coinbase is a Bitcoin company based in San Francisco, which means that is required to comply with US laws and regulations, at both a federal and state level.  Here are some of the regulatory bodies, laws, and regulations that Coinbase complies with:

  • It complies with state money transmission laws and regulations.
  • It complies with the USA Patriot Act.
  • It complies with the Bank Secrecy Act.
  • It is registered with FinCEN as a Money Services Business.

As a regulated platform, eToro is governed by the highest standards of accountability and transparency and is licensed to offer its services to large parts of the world. Currently eToro is regulated by the Cyprus Securities & Exchange Commission (CySEC).

Security

Coinbase segregates customer funds from company operational funds.  These customer funds are held in custodial bank accounts.  This means they will not use funds of yours to operate their business.  They also claim, “Even if Coinbase were to becomes insolvent, the funds held in the custodial bank accounts could not be claimed by Coinbase or its creditors.  The Funds held in those accounts would be returnable to Coinbase’s customers.”

98% of customers’ cryptocurrency funds are stored in secure offline cold storage.  These cryptocurrencies are held on multiple hardware wallets and paper wallets.  The physical cryptocurrency wallets are then stored in vaults and safety deposit boxes around the world.  These measures protect customers’ funds from being lost or stolen by hackers.

The remaining portion of cryptocurrency, that is stored online, is fully insured by a syndicate of Lloyd’s of London.

In terms of cyber-security, EToro platform is extremely safe and never had any issues with hacking attacks or user fund losses. eToro also takes precautions to ensure the funds and personal information of clients are safe. Traditional funds remain secure in European banks of tier 1.

With all that in mind, you should remember that there are no regulations for cryptocurrencies. Because of this, if you engage in cryptocurrency trading or other crypto-related investments, there is no insurance from the investor compensation schemes within the UK or Cyprus. The lack of regulations also means that if you have a complaint, you cannot file it with your financial ombudsman service.

Despite this, eToro takes pride in working to resolve issues as seamlessly as possible. In addition, there are numerous social platforms where you can register complaints, which may influence other users.

GET READY FOR THE TAX SEASON! CryptoTrader.Tax takes away the pain of preparing your crypto taxes. Simply connect your exchanges, import trades, and download your tax report in minutes. Use CRYPTOTAX10 for 10% off!

Other features

Coinbase has seen a rapid growth and branched out into different sectors of cryptocurrency world with most of their new services being geared for institutional clients. Those new services are Coinbase Custody, Coinbase Prime, Coinbase Staking.

Additionally, Coinbase has their Coinbase Pro platform designed for day-traders and their own wallet that is also a Web3.0 browser.

eToro is, as we already mentioned, a comprehensive platform for trading financial products of all kinds. Their crypto division has grown to include eToroX exchange and eToro wallet, two separate products to the main platform of eToro.

eToro’s next generation investment product CopyPortfolio is also a feature not found on any other crypto currency platform. CopyPortfolios allows eToro users to easily invest in top trader portfolios so they can copy the trades of the best traders on the website. eToro users who invest in a CopyPortfolio let eToro manage their capital professionally and avoid the guesswork of trading.

In addition, eToro also offers a unique social feature known as CopyTrading which allows users to automatically copy the trades of other successful traders based on specific conditions.

Currently eToro also offers margin trading and lets its users trade crypto currencies with up to 2 times leverage.

eToro vs Coinbase: PROS and CONS

Coinbase Pros

  • Excellent Reputation
  • FDIC Insured
  • Easy to Use
  • Very Secure
  • Accepts Credit / Debit Cards

Coinbase Cons

  • Slow Customer Support
  • Limited Currencies Available

eToro Pros

  • Well-Designed Interface
  • Trustworthy & Secure
  • Variety of Options
  • Large range of Markets

eToro Cons

  • No cryptocurrency deposits
  • Not many cryptocurrencies
  • Don’t hold the assets

eToro vs Coinbase: Conclusion

So who wins the battle between eToro and Coinbase?

  • In terms of fees – eToro is nominally free but they do charge you a spread and earn money that way. Coinbase is charging pretty high fees but not all of those charges go to them but to the third party services you use to fund your Coinbase account (for example Visa and Mastercad). If you plan to trade a lot, eToro is cheaper.
  • In terms of supported currencies – almost a complete tie as both have around 15 coins listed on their main platforms. Coinbase Pro and eToroX will have much more coins listed.
  • In terms of regulatory compliance and licensing: both are legit and well-regulated companies with a slight edge to Coinbase that has multiple layers of regulatory security.
  • In terms of customer support: Both are of similar quality so it is a tie.
  • When it comes to security in the eToro vs Coinbase battle: both are top notch so it is another tie.
  • Trading features: eToro clearly wins this one as it has more advanced charting interface with margin trading, social trading and other copy trading features.
  • Overall reputation: another tie since both enjoy fairly good reputation in crypto community with sporadic complaints by individual customers.

If you are not fond of neither of these exchanges, here is a list of potential alternatives: Cex.io, Binance, Changelly, Bitpanda, Bitfinex, PrimeXBT, PrimeBit, Deribit. Since February 2020, Coinbase Pro has announced they are entering the margin trading arena as well.

In case you want to compare Coinbase with other exchanges, have a look at our guides where we do just that:

Enjoy an anonymous cryptocurrency betting & casino in one place with 20+ cryptos available and get a generous Welcome Package up to 7 BTC now!
Use promo code CPTCN1X to get 125% 1st deposit bonus!
trade crypto on etoro
eToro Risk Warning: 75% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider. You should consider whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money.

 

CaptainAltcoin's writers and guest post authors may or may not have a vested interest in any of the mentioned projects and businesses. None of the content on CaptainAltcoin is investment advice nor is it a replacement for advice from a certified financial planner. The views expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of CaptainAltcoin.com

Torsten Hartmann has been an editor in the CaptainAltcoin team since August 2017. He holds a degree in politics and economics. He gained professional experience as a PR for a local political party before moving to journalism. Since 2017, he has pivoted his career towards blockchain technology, with principal interest in applications of blockchain technology in politics, business and society.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

      Leave a reply