Coinbase vs. Kraken Vergleich: Welche Börse soll ich wählen?

LocalBitcoins, CoinMama, GDAX, Kraken und Coinbase sind allesamt bekannte Börsen, aber wenn Sie neu in der Welt des Kaufs und Verkaufs von Kryptowährungen sind, wissen Sie wahrscheinlich nicht, welche Börse Sie wählen sollen. Coinbase und Kraken sind zwei der am häufigsten empfohlenen Optionen für den Kauf und Verkauf von Kryptowährungen, aufgrund ihrer Vorteile.

 In diesem Vergleich zwischen Coinbase und Kraken zeigen wir Ihnen die wichtigsten Unterschiede zwischen den beiden Optionen, damit Sie eine fundierte Entscheidung für eine bestimmte Börse treffen können.

Coinbase vs. Kraken: Wichtige Informationen

Website

WebsiteVisit KrakenVisit Coinbase
Unternehmen Start20112012
Unternehmen StandortSan Francisco, CA, USACalifornia, USA
Standort Typ Kryptowährung-BörseEinfache Kauf-/Verkaufsmethoden
Verfügbare KryptowährungenBitcoin (BTC), Ethereum (ETH), Litecoin (LTC), und 14+ MehrBitcoin (BTC), Ethereum (ETH), Litecoin (LTC)
Kauf-/EinzahlungsmethodenKryptowährung, BanküberweisungBanküberweisung, Kreditkarte, Debitkarte
Verkaufs-/AbhebungsmethodenBanküberweisung, KryptowährungBank Transfer, PayPal, Cryptocurrency
GebührenNiedrigMedium
SicherheitGutGroßartig
Gemeinschaftliches VertrauenGutGroßartig
Verifizierung erforderlichYesYes
KundenbetreuungGutGut
Mobile AppNeinJa
Beginner FriendlyNeinJa

Was ist Coinbase?

Diese digitale Währungsplattform wurde 2010 von Fred Ehsram und Brian Armstrong gegründet. Es hat 9 Millionen Nutzer und ist damit die größte Bitcoin-Börse. Das Unternehmen hat seinen Sitz in San Francisco und ist in 32 Ländern auf der ganzen Welt tätig, und sein Wallet ist in 190 Ländern verfügbar. Coinbase hat zwei wesentliche Produkte – die Börse für Kryptowährungen und GDAX (Global Digital Asset Exchange). Eine weitere erwähnenswerte Sache ist, dass diese Plattform eine API für Entwickler anbietet.

 

Was ist Kraken?

Kraken wurde 2011 von Payward, Inc. gegründet und ist bekannt für sein hohes Sicherheitsniveau und seine Liquidität mit Hunderttausenden von Nutzern. Kraken ist eine der führenden Börsen der Welt, wo man Kryptowährungen kaufen und verkaufen sowie tauschen kann. Dieses Unternehmen hat sich der Innovation und Verbesserung verschrieben. Es ist daher nicht verwunderlich, dass es das erste Unternehmen ist, das eine kryptografische Prüfung bestanden hat.

Coinbase: Die einsteigerfreundliche Plattform

Coinbase wird als einsteigerfreundliche Option aufgeführt und hat sich zu einem führenden Anbieter im Bereich der Kryptowährung-Börse entwickelt. Das Ziel von Coinbase ist es, den Kauf, Verkauf und das Aufbewahren von Kryptos so einfach wie möglich zu machen.  Auf der anderen Seite ist Kraken absolut keine „anfängerfreundliche Plattform“. Beide Plattformen ermöglichen es den Nutzern, Bitcoin, Ethereum und andere Kryptowährungen zu kaufen. Allerdings bieten sie diesen Service auf unterschiedliche Weise an.

Kraken ist eine Krypto Börse und bietet ein großes Volumen, einen Responsive Kundensupport und viele fortschrittliche Trading-Funktionen. Man kann sich Kraken als eine Art Forex-Börse vorstellen, denn hier können die Nutzer Währungspaare miteinander handeln, was mehr Raum für menschliche Fehler lässt als bei Coinbase, insbesondere für diejenigen, die noch keine Erfahrung im Trading mit Kryptos haben.

Das Angebot an digitalen Währungen, die gehandelt werden können, ist viel umfangreicher als bei Coinbase, aber wenn Sie mit FIAT-Währung handeln möchten, wird es wahrscheinlich länger dauern, bis Sie Ihre Krypto auf Kraken kaufen. Sie müssen die folgenden Schritte ausführen, um Krypto mit FIAT auf Kraken zu kaufen:

  1. Überprüfen Sie Ihr Konto bei einer Börse.
  2. Zahlen Sie FIAT-Währung per Banküberweisung bei der Börse ein.
  3. Warten Sie darauf, dass Ihre Einzahlung auf Ihrem Konto eingeht. Dies dauert in der Regel 1-5 Arbeitstage.
  4. Handeln Sie Ihre FIAT-Währungen gegen Kryptowährungen.
Coinbase vs. Kraken

Es ist wichtig zu wissen, dass Coinbase es Ihnen ermöglicht, Ihren Preis schneller zu fixieren.

Coinbase ist eine stabile, gut gestaltete Plattform, die darauf abzielt, den Kauf von Kryptowährungen zu vereinfachen, indem viele der negativen Aspekte, die bei Börsen zu finden sind, beseitigt werden. Die Plattform ist so konzipiert, dass sie die Sicherheit der Kundengelder gewährleistet, sodass auch Anfänger ihre Coins aufbewahren und die Plattform problemlos nutzen können. Coinbase bietet auch eine mobile App an, mit der Sie unterwegs Kryptowährungen kaufen, verkaufen und versenden können. Außerdem können Sie Kryptowährungen sowohl mit Kredit-/Debitkarten als auch per Banküberweisung kaufen.

Unten sehen Sie, wie der Coinbase-Kaufprozess für jede Zahlungsmethode aussieht.

Banküberweisung Käufe

  1. Überprüfen Sie Ihr Konto bei Coinbase.
  2. Kaufen Sie Litecoin, Ethereum und Bitcoin zu ihrem festgelegten Preis.
  3. Nach ein paar Tagen Bearbeitungszeit erhalten Sie die vereinbarte Menge an Kryptowährung, die Sie gekauft haben
    Coinbase vs. Kraken
    Coinbase vs. Kraken

Einkäufe mit Kredit-/Debitkarte

  1. Verifizieren Sie Ihr Konto und eine Kreditkarte.
  2. Kaufen Sie Litecoin, Ethereum und Bitcoin zu ihrem festgelegten Preis und erhalten Sie sie sofort.
    Coinbase vs. Kraken
    Coinbase vs. Kraken

HINWEIS: Die Limits für Coinbase Banküberweisungen und Kreditkartenkäufe variieren je nach Benutzer. Kreditkartenlimits werden durch den Verifizierungsstatus, die Kaufhistorie und das Kontolalter bestimmt. Käufe per Banküberweisung sind eine großartige Option für diejenigen, die hoffen, größere Beträge zu kaufen, weil Sie sofort nach der Verifizierung Zugang zu höheren Limits haben können.

Es ist einfach, die Vorteile von Coinbase zu erkennen, wenn Sie eine Kredit- oder Debitkarte verwenden. Sie werden in der Lage sein, eine oft bevorzugte Zahlungsmethode zu verwenden und auch Ihre Kryptowährung sofort zu erhalten.

Benutzer können auch profitieren, wenn sie eine Banküberweisung zum Kauf von Kryptowährung verwenden, wenn sie einen Preis so schnell wie möglich festsetzen möchten. Anders als bei Kraken können Sie bei Coinbase Ihren Kaufpreis festschreiben, bevor Ihre Banküberweisung bearbeitet wird, was nützlich sein kann, wenn Sie einen schnellen Preisanstieg erwarten. Es ist wichtig zu beachten, dass Sie während der Bearbeitung Ihrer Banküberweisung keine Kryptowährungen von Ihrem Konto transferieren können.

Eine weitere erwähnenswerte Sache ist, dass unabhängig von der Zahlungsmethode, die Sie verwenden, die Gebühren und der Preis zum Zeitpunkt Ihres Kaufs deutlich angezeigt werden. Coinbase erhebt Gebühren für seinen Service, und der Preis basiert auf den Börsenkursen, um einen fairen Preis zu gewährleisten.

Gebühren

Diese beiden Unternehmen bieten unterschiedliche Dienstleistungen und Zahlungsmöglichkeiten an.

Wenn es um die Preisgestaltung geht, hat Kraken in diesem Vergleich die Nase vorn, da es niedrigere Gebühren als sein Konkurrent bietet. Auch wenn die Gebühren für Taker und Maker unterschiedlich sind, liegen die Trading-Gebühren bei Kraken im Allgemeinen unter 0,36 %. Die Trading-Gebühren variieren je nach Währungspaar. Diese Gebühren können hier eingesehen werden. Sie müssen jedoch zusätzliche Gebühren zahlen, wenn Sie eine Einzahlung oder Abhebung von Ihrem Konto vornehmen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in der Abbildung unten.
Coinbase vs. Kraken

Coinbase bietet verständlicherweise höhere Gebühren, wenn man bedenkt:

  • Die Plattform akzeptiert Kredit-/Debitkarten. Dafür fallen natürlich höhere Gebühren an. Dies liegt an den Risiken für betrügerische Rückbuchungen und den von den Kreditkartenunternehmen erhobenen Gebühren.
  • Die Plattform bietet zusätzliche Dienste an, die Kraken nicht bietet.

Bei Coinbase fallen bei Käufen mit Kredit-/Debitkarten 3,99 % Gebühren an, während bei Banküberweisungen in der Regel 1,49 % Gebühren anfallen. Für weitere Details, überprüfen Sie das Bild unten.

Coinbase vs. Kraken

Verfügbare Kryptowährungen

Kraken ist wahrscheinlich die bessere Option für Sie, wenn Sie hoffen, eine Vielzahl von Altcoins zu kaufen.

Coinbase bietet den Nutzern nur die Möglichkeit, Bitcoin, Ethereum und Litecoin zu kaufen und zu verkaufen. Wenn Sie also mit etwas arbeiten möchten, das nicht Bitcoin, Litecoin oder Ethereum ist, dann vergessen Sie Coinbase. Andererseits, wenn Sie nur mit diesen drei Kryptowährungen arbeiten wollen, sollten Sie wissen, dass Coinbase der führende Anbieter für die Börse von Bitcoin, Ethereum und Litecoin ist.

Auf der anderen Seite ist Kraken die größte Börse in Bezug auf die Liquidität und bietet weitaus mehr Möglichkeiten für den Handel mit Kryptowährungen und Fiat-Währungen. Bei Kraken können Sie mit US-Dollar, Kanadischen Dollar, Japanischen Yen, Britischen Pfund und Euro handeln. Verfügbare Kryptowährungen sind Bitcoin (BTC), Ethereum (ETH), Litecoin (LTC), Monero (XMR), Gnosis (GNO), EOS (EOS), Augur REP-Token (REP), Melon (MLN), Zcash (ZEC), Tether (USDT), Stellar/Lumens (XLM), Ethereum Classic (ETC), Ripple (XRP), Dash (DASH) und Dogecoin (XDG).

Unterstützte Länder

Coinbase  bedient Kunden in den Vereinigten Staaten, dem Vereinigten Königreich, Australien, Österreich, Schweden, der Schweiz, den Niederlanden, Norwegen, Dänemark, Finnland, Slowenien, Spanien, Malta, Monaco, Zypern, der Tschechischen Republik, Singapur, der Slowakei, Portugal, San Marino, Polen, Lettland, Liechtenstein, Irland, Italien, Griechenland, Ungarn, Kanada, Kroatien, Belgien und Bulgarien.

Kraken ist bis auf wenige Ausnahmen weltweit verfügbar. Ihr Kontostatus wird wahrscheinlich „vorverifiziert“ anzeigen, wenn Ihr Land oder Ihre Region nicht für die Dienste von Kraken geeignet ist.

Beide Unternehmen genießen das Vertrauen der Gemeinschaft

Coinbase und Kraken wurden 2012 bzw. 2011 gegründet und waren beide Pioniere im Bereich des Kaufs und Verkaufs von Kryptowährung.

Beide Unternehmen haben ihren Sitz in San Francisco, Kalifornien, und als in den USA ansässige Unternehmen, zu deren Kunden auch in den USA ansässige Personen gehören, verpflichten sich beide Plattformen zur Einhaltung aller US-amerikanischen Vorschriften und Gesetze.

Beide Unternehmen sind sicher und zuverlässig

Da auf diesen Websites Millionen von Dollar verwahrt werden, ist die Sicherheit der Gelder eines der Hauptanliegen ihrer Nutzer. Daher halten sich sowohl Coinbase als auch Kraken an die branchenweit besten Praktiken zum Aufbewahren von Geldern in Fiat-Währung und Kryptowährung.

  • Beide Websites bieten eine Reihe von Sicherheitsmerkmalen zum Schutz der Nutzerdaten, einschließlich der 2-Wege-Authentifizierungsmethode, um persönliche Konten zu schützen.
  • Beide Unternehmen bewahren den Großteil der Nutzergelder in Cold Storage auf, wodurch diese Gelder vor einem möglichen Hack oder einer anderen Sicherheitsverletzung geschützt sind.
  • Die Gelder von Unternehmen und Nutzern sind voneinander getrennt. Das bedeutet, dass die Gelder der Nutzer nicht für betriebliche Zwecke des Unternehmens verwendet werden.

Coinbase geht in Sachen Sicherheit noch einen Schritt weiter. Das Guthaben der US-amerikanischen Kunden auf dem Wallet ist bis zu einer Höhe von 250.000 US-Dollar durch die FDIC-Versicherung abgedeckt und die online gehaltenen Gelder der Kryptowährung sind durch ein Syndikat von Lloyd’s of London versichert.

Kraken verlangt auch, dass Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten angeben, wenn Sie Ihr Konto einrichten und mit Bitcoins handeln, und bietet PGP-Verschlüsselung für die E-Mail-Kommunikation und eine globale Einstellungssperre.

Diese Maßnahmen sind ein wenig streng und manche würden sagen, zu streng. Es kann jedoch gesagt werden, dass diese Websites ein unvergleichliches Sicherheitsniveau bieten.

Es ist wichtig zu wissen, dass keine der beiden Seiten für den Verlust von Geldern verantwortlich gemacht werden kann, wenn Ihr persönliches Konto direkt kompromittiert wird, weil Sie es unsachgemäß gesichert haben.

Kundenbetreuung

Es ist kein Geheimnis, dass bei den meisten Krypto Börsen der Kundenservice zu wünschen übrig lässt, denn die jüngsten Kursgewinne haben zu einem enormen Anstieg neuer Krypto-Investoren geführt und die meisten Krypto-Websites haben Mühe, mit ihrer schnell wachsenden Nutzerbasis Schritt zu halten.

Das Gute daran ist, dass beide Plattformen einen umfangreichen FAQ-Bereich für allgemeine Fragen haben.

Coinbase bietet einen Kundensupport per E-Mail, Telefon und über sein Help Center an und scheint auf Kundenprobleme in einem angemessenen Zeitrahmen zu reagieren. Einige Nutzer behaupten, dass einige Probleme, die an den Kundensupport der Website herangetragen wurden, mehr als 24 Stunden lang ungelöst blieben, aber solche Beschwerden werden wahrscheinlich den hervorragenden Ruf, den das Unternehmen im Laufe der Zeit erworben hat, trüben.

Kraken hat in der Regel für einen guten Kundenservice bekannt und sie bieten Unterstützung per E-Mail und ihre Hilfe-Center. Allerdings scheint es in letzter Zeit viele neue Beschwerden zu geben und die Mehrheit der Kundenbeschwerden gegen Kraken beziehen sich darauf, wie schwierig es ist, sie zu erreichen und wie lange sie brauchen, um Probleme zu lösen.

Fazit

Wie Sie wahrscheinlich schon festgestellt haben, gibt es keinen eindeutigen Sieger im Kampf Coinbase vs. Kraken. Letztendlich ist es eine Frage der persönlichen Präferenz, denn beide Plattformen sind hervorragende Optionen für digitale Assets.

 Coinbase ist die bessere Option für diejenigen, die neu in der Welt der Kryptowährungen sind und sich einfach nicht mit einem komplizierten Austauschprozess herumschlagen wollen. Coinbase ist auch die einzige Option der beiden, die Kredit- und Debitkarten akzeptiert, und ist auch ein globaler Markt, und viele Menschen wählen es über andere Trading-Plattformen.

Wenn Sie hingegen Wert auf eine große Anzahl verfügbarer Kryptowährungen und extrem niedrige Gebühren legen, dann ist Kraken die bessere Wahl. Es erfordert mehr technisches Wissen und ihre Unterstützung kann Probleme haben, mit der Spitze in neue Kunden zu halten. Es ist jedoch eine gute Wahl für jeden, der einen sicheren Ort für Kryptowährungen Börse will.

Auch lesen:

Alternativen zu Coinhouse

Wenn Sie Coinhouse nicht mögen, gibt es eine Reihe von Alternativen, die wir Ihnen hier empfehlen:

Coinbase vs. Kraken Vorteile und Nachteile

Coinbase Vorteile

  • Es hat niedrigere Gebühren als die „Easy Buy“-Konkurrenz
  • Sie können Kryptowährung schneller kaufen als an den meisten Börsen
  • Sie können Kryptowährung mit Banküberweisungen, Kredit- und Debitkarten kaufen
  • Einsteigerfreundlich und einfacher zu bedienen als eine Börse
  • Es bewahrt Kundengelder sicher auf
  • Reguliertes und vertrauenswürdiges Unternehmen

Coinbase Nachteile

  • Es hat etwas höhere Gebühren als die meisten Börsen.
  • Wallets sind weniger sicher als eine Wallet, die von Ihnen kontrolliert wird
  • Es überwacht, wie Sie Ihre Kryptowährung ausgeben

Kraken Vorteile

  • Niedrige Gebühren
  • Eine große Anzahl verfügbarer Kryptowährungen
  • Hohe Liquidität auf den EUR-Märkten

Kraken Nachteile 

  • Schwierige Benutzeroberfläche
  • Überprüfungen dauern ewig
  • Betriebszeitprobleme, wenn der Markt heiß wird

Referenzen:

intelligent crypto
How are  regular people making returns of as much as 27,144% in a year?  By picking the right coin at the right time - click the button to learn more.
Crypto arbitration still works like a charm, if you do it right! Check out Bitsgap, leading crypto arbitrage bot to learn the best way of doing it.

CaptainAltcoin's writers and guest post authors may or may not have a vested interest in any of the mentioned projects and businesses. None of the content on CaptainAltcoin is investment advice nor is it a replacement for advice from a certified financial planner. The views expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of CaptainAltcoin.com

Felix Küster

Felix Küster

Felix Kuester works as an analyst and content manager for Captainaltcoin and specializes in chart analysis and blockchain technology. He is also actively involved in the crypto community - both online as a central contact in the Facebook and Telegram channel of Captainaltcoin and offline as an interviewer he always maintains an ongoing interaction with startups, developers and visionaries. The physicist has couple of years of professional experience as project manager and technological consultant. Felix has for many years been enthusiastic not only about the technological dimension of crypto currencies, but also about the socio-economic vision behind them.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

CaptainAltcoin
Logo

Coinbase vs. Kraken Comparison: Which One to Choose?

LocalBitcoins, CoinMama, GDAX, Kraken, and Coinbase are all well-known exchanges, but if you are new to the world of buying and selling cryptocurrencies, chances are, you don’t know which exchange to choose. Coinbase and Kraken are two of the most commonly recommended options for buying and selling cryptocurrencies, due to their benefits.

 In this Coinbase vs. Kraken comparison, we’ll show you the key differences between both options, so that you can make an educated decision when opting for a certain exchange platform.

Coinbase vs. Kraken: Key Information

Site Visit Kraken Visit Coinbase
Company Launch 2011 2012
Company Location San Francisco, CA, USA California, USA
Site Type Cryptocurrency Exchange Easy Buy/Sell Methods
Available Cryptocurrencies Bitcoin (BTC), Ethereum (ETH), Litecoin (LTC), and 14+ More Bitcoin (BTC), Ethereum (ETH), Litecoin (LTC)
Buy/Deposit Methods Cryptocurrency, Bank Transfer Bank Transfer, Credit Card, Debit Card
Sell/Withdrawal Methods Bank Transfer, Cryptocurrency Bank Transfer, PayPal, Cryptocurrency
Fees Low Medium
Security Good Great
Community Trust Good Great
Verification Required Yes Yes
Customer Support Good Good
Mobile App No Yes
Beginner Friendly No Yes

What is Coinbase?

This digital currency platform was founded by Fred Ehsram and Brian Armstrong in 2010. It has 9 million users, making it the biggest Bitcoin exchange. The company is settled in San Francisco and operates in 32 countries across the globe, and its wallet is available in 190 countries. Coinbase has two essential products – retail exchange of cryptocurrencies for fiat currency, and GDAX (Global Digital Asset Exchange). One more thing worth noting is that this platform offers an API for developers.

 

What is Kraken?

Founded in 2011 by Payward, Inc., Kraken is well known for its high-security level, and liquidity, having hundreds of thousands of users. Kraken is a number one exchange in the world, where you can purchase and sell cryptocurrencies as well as exchange them. This company is committed to innovation and improvement. Therefore, it is not surprising that it is the first one that managed to pass a cryptographically audit.

Coinbase: The Beginner Friendly Platform

Coinbase is listed as beginner friendly option, and has become a leader in the cryptocurrency exchange space. The goal of Coinbase is to make purchasing, selling, and storing cryptos as simple as possible.  On the other hand, Kraken is absolutely not “beginner friendly platform. Both platforms allow users to purchase Bitcoin, Ethereum, and other cryptocurrencies. However, they provide this service in different ways.

Kraken operates as a crypto exchange, and offers great volume, responsive customer support and many advanced trading features. You can think of Kraken as being similar to a forex exchange, because here users are able to trade currency pairs with each other, which leaves more room for human error, than Coinbase does, particularly for those who have no previous experience in trading cryptos.

The range of digital currencies available to trade is much more extensive than at Coinbase, but if you want to trade with FIAT currency, it will most likely take you longer to buy your crypto on Kraken. You have to complete the following steps in order to purchase crypto with FIAT on Kraken:

  1. Verify your account on an exchange.
  2. Deposit FIAT currency to the exchange via bank transfer.
  3. Wait for your deposit to hit your account. This usually takes 1-5 business days.
  4. Trade your FIAT currencies for cryptocurrencies.

Coinbase vs. Kraken

It’s important to note that Coinbase allows you to lock in your price more quickly.

Coinbase is a stable, well-designed platform that aims to simplify purchasing crypto by removing many of the negative aspects found at exchanges. The platform is made in such a way that provides security to customers’ funds, so even novices can store their coins and use the platform easily. Coinbase also offers a mobile app, allowing you to buy, sell, and send cryptocurrency on the go, and you can also purchase crypto with both credit/debit cards and bank transfers.

Below you will see what the Coinbase purchasing process is like for each payment method.

Bank Transfer Purchases

  1. Verify your account at Coinbase.
  2. Purchase Litecoin, Ethereum, and Bitcoin at their set price.
  3. After a few days of processing time, you will receive the agreed upon amount of cryptocurrency that you bought.
    Coinbase vs. Kraken
    Coinbase vs. Kraken

Credit/Debit Card Purchases

  1. Verify your account and a Credit Card.
  2. Purchase Litecoin, Ethereum, and Bitcoin at their set price and receive them instantly.
    Coinbase vs. Kraken
    Coinbase vs. Kraken

NOTE: Coinbase bank transfer and credit card buying limits vary by user. Credit card limits are determined by verification status, buying history, and account age. Bank transfer purchases are a great option for those who are hoping to buy larger amounts, because you can instantly have access to higher limits after verification.

It’s easy to see the benefits of Coinbase when using a credit or debit card. You will be able to use an often-preferred payment method, and also to receive your cryptocurrency instantly.

Users can also benefit when using a bank transfer to buy cryptocurrency, if they’re looking to lock in a price as soon as possible. Unlike on Kraken, Coinbase allows you to lock in your purchase price, before your bank transfer is processed, which can be useful if you’re expecting prices to rise quickly. It’s important to note that while your bank transfer is being processed, you cannot transfer cryptocurrencies from your account.

One more thing worth noting is that, regardless of which payment method you use, the fees and price will be clearly shown at the time of your purchase. Coinbase does charge fees for their service, and the price is based off exchange rates, insuring a fair price.

Fees

These two companies offer different services and payment methods.

When it comes to pricing, Kraken comes out ahead in this comparison, as it offers lower fees than its competitor. Even though fees vary for takers and makers, Kraken’s trading fees are generally below .36%. Trading fees vary by currency pair. These fees can be viewed here. However, you will have to pay additional fees when depositing or withdrawing from your account. For more information, see the image below.
Coinbase vs. Kraken

Coinbase understandably offers higher fees, when you consider:

  • The platform accepts credit/debit cards. This naturally carries higher fees. This is due to the risks for fraudulent charge backs and the fees charged by credit card companies.
  • The platform provides additional services that Kraken does not.

On Coinbase, credit/debit card purchases carry 3.99% fees, while bank transfer purchases typically carry 1.49% fees. For more details, check the image below.

Coinbase vs. Kraken

Available Cryptocurrencies

Kraken is likely the better option for you if you’re hoping to buy a variety of altcoins.

2 more days to buy TradingView with 60% off

Coinbase only offers users the ability to buy and sell Bitcoin, Ethereum, and Litecoin, so if you want to work with something that is not Bitcoin, Litecoin or Ethereum, then forget about Coinbase. On the other hand, if you do want to work with only these three cryptocurrencies, you should know that Coinbase is the leader in Bitcoin, Ethereum, and Litecoin exchange.

On the other side, Kraken is the largest exchange in liquidity and offers far more options for trading cryptocurrencies and fiat currencies. With Kraken, you can trade US dollars, Canadian dollars, Japanese yen, British pounds, and Euros. Available cryptocurrencies are Bitcoin (BTC), Ethereum (ETH, Litecoin (LTC), Monero (XMR), Gnosis (GNO), EOS (EOS), Augur REP tokens (REP), Melon (MLN), Zcash (ZEC), Tether (USDT), Stellar/Lumens (XLM), Ethereum Classic (ETC), Ripple (XRP), Dash (DASH), and Dogecoin (XDG).

Supported Countries

Coinbase serves customers in the United States, United Kingdom, Australia, Austria, Sweden, Switzerland, Netherlands, Norway, Denmark, Finland, Slovenia, Spain, Malta, Monaco, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Singapore, Slovakia, Portugal, San Marino, Poland, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Ireland, Italy, Greece, Hungary, Canada, Croatia, Belgium, and Bulgaria.

Kraken is available worldwide, with exceptions. Your account status will likely say “pre-verified” if your country or region is not eligible for Kraken’s services.

Both Companies Are Trusted by the Community

Coinbase and Kraken were launched in 2012 and 2011 respectively and they were both pioneers in servicing the purchase and sale of cryptocurrency.

Both companies are currently based out of San Francisco, California, and as US based companies, whose customers include US residents, both platforms are fully committed to complying with all US regulations and laws.

Both Companies are Safe and Secure

With millions of dollars being held on these sites, security of funds is one of their users’ top concerns, so both Coinbase and Kraken adhere to industry best practices for storing both fiat currency and cryptocurrency funds.

  • Both sites offer an array of security features for protection of users’ information, including 2-way authentication method, for securing personal accounts.
  • Both companies keep the majority of users’ funds in cold storage, which protects these funds from a potential hack or other security breach.
  • Company and user funds are segregated. This means that user funds aren’t used for company operational purposes.

Coinbase takes security one step further. US customer’s USD wallet balances are covered up to $250,000 by FDIC insurance, and cryptocurrency funds held online are insured by a syndicate of Lloyd’s of London.

Kraken also requires you to submit your personal info when making your account and trading Bitcoins, and offers PGP encryption for email communication and a global setting lock.

These measures are a bit strict and some would say too much. However, it can be said that these sites offer unparalleled security levels.

It’s important to note that neither site will be held responsible for any lost funds if your personal account is directly compromised, due to you improperly securing it.

Customer Support

It’s no secret that when it comes to most crypto exchanges, customer service leaves much to be desired, because recent price gains have brought a huge increase of new crypto investors and most crypto sites have struggled to keep up with their rapidly rising user bases.

The good thing is that both platforms have an extensive FAQ section for general questions.

Coinbase offers customer support through email, phone, and their help center, and they seem to respond to customer support issues in a reasonable time frame. Some users claim that some problems raised to the site’s customer support service have been left unresolved for over 24 hours, but such complaints are likely to tarnish the prominent reputation the company has garnered over time.

Kraken has typically been known for having good customer service and they offer support through email and their help center. However, there seems to be a lot of new recent complaints and the majority of customer complaints against Kraken are about how difficult they can be to get ahold of and how long they take to resolve issues.

Conclusion

As you probably concluded by now, there is no clear winner in the battle of Coinbase vs. Kraken. Ultimately, it comes down to personal preference, since both platforms are excellent options for digital assets.

 Coinbase is the better option for those who are new to the world of cryptocurrencies, and simply don’t want to bother with a complicated exchange process. Coinbase is also the only option of the two that accepts credit and debit cards, and is also a global market, and many people choose it over other trading platforms.

On the other hand, if a large number of available cryptocurrencies and super low fees are important to you, then Kraken is a better option. It does require more technical knowledge and their support may be having issues keeping up with the spike in new customers. However, it is a good choice for anyone who wants a safe place for cryptocurrencies exchange.

Coinbase vs. Kraken Pros and Cons

Coinbase Pros

  • It has lower fees than “easy buy” competitors
  • You can purchase cryptocurrency faster than most exchanges
  • You can buy cryptocurrency with bank transfers and Credit Cards and Debit Cards
  • Beginner friendly and easier to use than an exchange
  • It safely stores customer funds
  • Regulated and trustworthy company

Coinbase Cons

  • It has slightly higher fees than most exchanges.
  • Wallets are less secure than a wallet that is controlled by you
  • It monitors how you spend your cryptocurrency

Kraken Pros

  • Low fees
  • A large number of available cryptocurrencies
  • Great liquidity in EUR markets

Kraken Cons

  • Difficult user interface
  • Verifications takes ages
  • Uptime problems when market gets hot

References:

https://coincentral.com/coinbase-vs-kraken/


  Join Our Telegram Channel or  
CaptainAltcoin's writers and guest post authors may or may not have a vested interest in any of the mentioned projects and businesses. None of the content on CaptainAltcoin is investment advice nor is it a replacement for advice from a certified financial planner. The views expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of CaptainAltcoin.com

4 Comments
  1. STAY AWAY FROM KRAKEN!!!. Multiple problems with this exchange. Bad support. You will lose money.

  2. Here’s my feed back on kraken . Ok the sign up is a bit much they require a photo I.d. A passport and also a three month bill from where you live I saw this said forget this is like an onion full of layers just to sign up waste of time for me

  3. Is this still the case February 25? The author indicated recent problems ………hopefully its a temporary condition only.

  4. I use Kraken for XRP and XLM. The site isn’t bad, and once you learn to navigate it’s actually pretty straightforward. Coinbase I only use for fiat pairing direct back into my account.

Leave a reply