Cex.io vs Coinbase – Vergleich von Gebühren, Sicherheit, Funktionen

Der Krypto-Boom von 2017 hat eine Menge neuer Krypto Börsen hervorgebracht. Die meisten dieser Börsen sind nicht der beste Ort, um Krypto zu kaufen, weil sie wenig Sicherheit bieten, hohe Gebühren verlangen oder ihre Gründer schlichtweg betrügerische Absichten verfolgen.

Cex.io und Coinbase sind zwei der älteren und renommierten Börsen, die Ihre Aufmerksamkeit verdienen. Daher haben wir uns entschlossen, Coinbase vs Cex.io als zwei legitime und sichere Optionen für den Kauf von Bitcoin und Altcoins zu vergleichen.

Vergleichskriterien

Wir haben Coinbase und Cexio in den wichtigsten Kategorien gegeneinander antreten lassen, wenn es um Krypto Börsen geht: Gebühren, Ein- und Auszahlungsmethoden, unterstützte Währungen, unterstützte Länder, Vertrauen und Reputation, regulatorischer Status, Sicherheitspraktiken und allgemeine Funktionen und Eigenschaften.

Lassen Sie uns also gleich zum Duell Forex gegen Coinbase übergehen.

Coinbase vs Cex.io: Allgemeine Informationen

Coinbase wurde im Jahr 2012 in San Francisco, Kalifornien, gegründet. Als ein in den Vereinigten Staaten tätiges Unternehmen ist Coinbase verpflichtet, die US-Gesetze und -Vorschriften einzuhalten, einschließlich der staatlichen Geldüberweisungsgesetze und -vorschriften, der USA Patriot Act, den Bank Secrecy Act, und ist bei FinCEN als Gelddienstleistungsunternehmen registriert. Diese Gesetze und Vorschriften zwingen Coinbase zur Rechenschaftspflicht. Dies ist etwas, das bei einigen ihrer Offshore-Konkurrenten in anderen Ländern mit weniger strengen Vorschriften fehlen kann. Es wird weithin als eine der besten Krypto Börsen auf dem Markt angesehen.

Die 2013 gegründete, CEX.io ist eine der ältesten Bitcoin-Börsen überhaupt.  CEX. io hat seinen Sitz in London, England.  Es begann als Bitcoin Börse und Cloud Mining Anbieter; das erste Bitcoin Cloud Mining Unternehmen. Sein Mining-Pool, bekannt als Ghash.io, war irgendwann so groß, dass es 42% der gesamten Netzwerk-Mining-Leistung hielt.

Der Betrieb des Cloud Minings wurde jedoch im Januar 2015 eingestellt. Heute operiert CEX.io ausschließlich als Bitcoin Börse. CEX.io ist bei FINCEN registriert und es wendet AML- (Anti-Geldwäsche) und KYC-Richtlinien (Know Your Customer) an, was bedeutet, dass Sie Ihre Identität verifizieren müssen, bevor Sie Bitcoins über die Börse kaufen können.

Coinbase vs Cex.io: Gebühren

Coinbase erhebt rund 3,99% für Käufe per Kredit-/Debitkarte und 1,49% für Käufe per Banküberweisung.

KaufmethodeCoinbase-Gebühren
U.S. Bankkonto1.49%
($0.15 minimum)
Coinbase Wallet (U.S. Dollars)1.49%
Kreditkarte oder Debitkarte3.99%

Cex.io verlangte früher sehr viel Geld und hatte einen schlechten Ruf, wenn es um Gebühren ging. Inzwischen haben sie jedoch ihre Gebührenstruktur geändert und verlangen weniger:

USD
Payment method Deposit Withdrawal
VISA2.99%Service charge:up to 3% + $ 1.20Commission:up to $ 3.80
MasterCard2.99%Service charge:up to 1.8% + $ 1.20Commission:up to 1.2% + $ 3.80
Bank transfer$ 00.3% + $ 25.00
ACH$ 0$ 0
EUR
VISA2.99%€ 0Service charge:up to 3% + € 1.50Commission:up to € 3.50
MasterCard2.99%Service charge:up to 1.8% + € 1.50Commission:up to 1.2% + € 3.50
Bank transfer€ 00.3% + € 25.00
SEPA€ 0€ 0

Was die Trading-Gebühren betrifft, so erhebt Cex.io folgende Gebühren:

Maker Fee:0.16%
Taker Fee:0.25%

Einzahlungs- und Auszahlungsmethoden

Coinbase bietet 3 Zahlungsmethoden: Debitkarte, Bankkonto oder Banküberweisung. In dieser Anleitung werden wir den Kauf mit einer Debitkarte oder mit einem Bankkonto behandeln.
Als Abhebungsmethoden – Sie haben eine zusätzliche Möglichkeit, Ihr Geld von Coinbase zu erhalten, indem Sie PayPal verwenden.

Auf der anderen Seite bietet Cex.io ähnliche Optionen, wobei der Fokus mehr auf Sofortkäufen über Kreditkarten liegt

  • Sie können Kreditkarten mit Gebühren von 3,5% oder ACH/Swift für provisionsfreie Überweisungen verwenden.

Abhebungsmethoden

  • VISA
Bearbeitungsgebühr: bis zu 3% + $ 1,20
Provision: bis zu $ 3,80
  • Mastercard
Servicegebühr: bis zu 1,8% + $ 1,20
Provision: bis zu 1,2% + $ 3,80
  • Swift

Provision: 0,3% + $ 25,00

  • ACH – keine Provision

Coinbase vs Cex: Unterstützte Coins

Zurzeit sind Coins auf der Nicht-Pro-Schnittstelle aufgeführt: BitcoinBitcoin Cash, Ethereum, Ethereum Classic, USD Coin, XRP, Stellar, Zcash, 0x, Litecoin und der Basic Attention Token.

CEO.IX hat sein Angebot im letzten Jahr erweitert. Sie können aus Bitcoin, Bitcoin Cash Ethereum, XRP, XLM, LTC, BTG, Tron, BTT, ATOM, MCH, BAT, Dash und Zcash wählen.

Coinbase vs Cex.io: Unterstützte Länder

Coinbase bedient Kunden in den folgenden Ländern:

Australien, Österreich, Belgien, Bulgarien, Kanada, Kroatien, Zypern, Tschechische Republik, Dänemark, Finnland, Griechenland, Ungarn, Irland, Italien, Jersey, Lettland, Liechtenstein, Malta, Monaco, Niederlande, Norwegen, Polen, Portugal, San Marino, Singapur, Slowakei, Slowenien, Spanien, Schweden, Schweiz, Vereinigtes Königreich und die Vereinigten Staaten.

CEX.IO kann von Händlern in mehr als 220 Ländern genutzt werden. Einige Länder werden jedoch nicht von CEX. IO nicht unterstützt, darunter Afghanistan, Bosnien und Herzegowina, Burundi, Demokratische Republik Kongo, Zentralafrikanische Republik, Elfenbeinküste, Kuba, Eritrea, Äthiopien, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Iran, Irak, Kenia, Nordkorea, Laos, Libanon, Liberia, Libyen, Nigeria, São Tomé und Príncipe, Somalia, Südsudan, Sudan, Syrien, Tansania, Tunesien, Uganda, Vietnam, Vanuatu, Jemen und Zimbabwe.

Aufgrund regulatorischer Beschränkungen werden US-Händler an der Börse CEX.IO nicht akzeptiert.

Beschaffungsgrenzen

Coinbase  legt auf seiner Website keine klaren Limits für neue Nutzer fest. Stattdessen können die Limits je nach Land, Kontoverifizierung, Kaufhistorie und Kontolalter variieren. Um höhere Limits zu beantragen, müssen Sie Ihre Identität verifizieren. Sobald Sie dies getan haben, kann ein vollständig verifizierter US-Bürger bis zu 50.000 $ pro Woche transferieren, während verifizierte Kunden aus der EU jederzeit maximal 30.000 $ auf ihrem Konto haben können. Sie können ihre Limits über ihr Konto überprüfen.

Abhängig vom Kontotyp hat Cex.io unterschiedliche Limits.

Basiskonto: Mit einem Basiskonto können Sie pro Tag Bitcoins im Wert von bis zu 400 Dollar und pro Monat bis zu 2.000 Dollar kaufen. Basic-Konten können nicht per Banküberweisung gekauft werden. Verifiziert: Verifizierte Konten können Bitcoins im Wert von bis zu 10.000 $ pro Tag oder bis zu 100.000 $ pro Monat kaufen, sowohl per Kreditkarte als auch per Banküberweisung.

Kundenbetreuung

Coinbase Der Kundensupport wird per E-Mail abgewickelt, und nach unseren persönlichen Erfahrungen haben wir in der Regel innerhalb von 24-72 Stunden Antworten vom Support erhalten. Es gibt auch eine umfangreiche FAQ für allgemeine Fragen.

CEX.IO bietet Support fast ausschließlich per E-Mail. Die Agenten reagieren in der Regel schnell auf Nutzeranfragen und der Service läuft reibungslos. Das Hilfe-Center und der FAQ-Bereich sind sehr umfangreich und hilfreich mit einer Fülle von hilfreichen Informationen, einschließlich hilfreicher Anleitungen zu Themen wie Margin Trading.

Vertrauen und Reputation

Coinbase genießt als registriertes und reguliertes Unternehmen mit bekannten VCs als Investoren, einem transparenten Team und einer makellosen Erfolgsbilanz (mit kleineren, anekdotischen Beschwerden einzelner Kunden) einen hervorragenden Ruf und Vertrauen.

Coinbase ist ein Bitcoin-Unternehmen mit Sitz in San Francisco, was bedeutet, dass es verpflichtet ist, die US-Gesetze und -Vorschriften sowohl auf Bundes- als auch auf Staatsebene einzuhalten.

  • Es erfüllt die staatlichen Geldüberweisungsgesetze und -vorschriften.
  • Es erfüllt den USA Patriot Act.
  • Es erfüllt den Bank Secrecy Act.
  • Es ist bei FinCEN als Gelddienstleistungsunternehmen registriert.

CEX.IO ist jetzt 7 Jahre alt und tickt seit 2013. Es schwenkte von seinem ursprünglichen Dienst – dem Cloud Mining – zur Einführung einer Krypto Börse. Zunächst wurden beide Dienste angeboten, aber in den letzten Jahren haben sie das Cloud Mining aufgegeben, um sich auf die Börse zu konzentrieren. Cex.io ist in London registriert und nutzt es als seinen offiziellen Sitz. Es ist auch wichtig zu wissen, dass CEX.io auch als Gelddienstleistungsunternehmen bei FinCEN USA registriert ist.

Coinbase vs. Cex.io: Sicherheit

Coinbase trennt die Kundengelder von den Betriebsgeldern des Unternehmens.  Diese Kundengelder werden auf verwahrten Bankkonten gehalten.  Das bedeutet, dass sie keine Gelder von Ihnen für den Betrieb ihres Unternehmens verwenden.  Sie behaupten auch: „Selbst wenn Coinbase insolvent werden sollte, könnten die Gelder auf den verwahrten Bankkonten nicht von Coinbase oder seinen Gläubigern eingefordert werden.  Die Gelder auf diesen Konten würden an die Kunden von Coinbase zurückgegeben werden.“

98% der Kryptowährungsgelder der Kunden werden in einem sicheren Offline Cold Storage aufbewahrt.  Diese Kryptowährungen werden auf mehreren Hardware Wallets und Papier-Wallets gehalten.  Die physischen Kryptowährung-Wallets werden dann in Vaults und Schließfächern auf der ganzen Welt aufbewahrt.  Diese Maßnahmen schützen die Gelder der Kunden vor Verlust oder Diebstahl durch Hacker.

Der verbleibende Teil der Kryptowährung, der online aufbewahrt wird, ist vollständig durch ein Konsortium von Lloyd’s of London versichert.

CEX.IO implementiert die besten Sicherheitspraktiken der Branche: Aufbewahren von Benutzergeldern in Cold Storage, Verwendung von 2FA-Authentifizierung und Verschlüsselung aller Datenübertragungen. In ihren Marketingmaterialien legen sie jedoch nicht allzu viel Wert auf ihre Sicherheitsmaßnahmen, was seltsam ist, da die meisten anderen Börsen gerne mit ihrer erstklassigen Sicherheit prahlen.

CEX hat mindestens einen Hacking-Vorfall erlitten, obwohl dies schon 2013 geschah, als die Plattform noch in den Kinderschuhen steckte. Die Schwachstelle wurde damals gepatcht, und seitdem wurden keine Sicherheitsvorfälle mehr gemeldet.

Andere Merkmale

Coinbase erweitert sein gesamtes Dienstleistungsrepertoire mit neuen Dienstprogrammen wie Coinbase Custody, Coinbase Staking, Coinbase Earn, Coinbase Card.

Cex.io auf der anderen Seite hat sich mehr auf die Expansion in der gleichen Vertikalen konzentriert, indem es Margin Trading, aber auch Staking als Service (für XTZ) hinzugefügt hat.

Fazit

Wer gewinnt also den Kampf zwischen Cex.io und Coinbase?

  • In Bezug auf die Gebühren – Coinbase ist besser.
  • In Bezug auf die unterstützten Währungen – so ziemlich ein Unentschieden, da beide ihr Angebot mit allen wichtigen Token erweitert haben. Da Cex.io jedoch auch XRP anbietet, übertrifft es Coinbase in diesem Bereich.
  • In Bezug auf die Einhaltung von Vorschriften und die Lizenzierung: Beide sind großartig, aber Coinbase hat die Oberhand.
  • In Bezug auf den Kundensupport: Beide sind von ähnlicher Qualität, also ist es ein Unentschieden.
  • Wenn es um die Sicherheit im Kampf Cex vs Coinbase geht: Coinbase ist etwas besser, da sie nie irgendwelche Hacks in der Vergangenheit hatten, im Gegensatz zu Cex.io, das ein paar kleine Hacker-Eingriffe erlitten hat.
  • Kundensupport: ein weiteres Unentschieden, da beide Plattformen so ziemlich das gleiche System (E-Mail) mit ähnlicher Reaktionszeit auf Anfragen verwenden.
  • Gesamtreputation: Coinbase ist über Krypto hinaus viel bekannter, so dass sie in diesem Punkt ein W einnehmen.

Vorteile und Nachteile

Coinbase

Vorteile

  • Ausgezeichneter Ruf
  • FDIC-versichert
  • Einfach zu benutzen
  • Sehr sicher
  • Akzeptiert Kredit-/Debitkarten

Nachteile

  • Langsamer Kundensupport
  • Begrenzt verfügbare Währungen

Cex.io

Vorteile

  • Gute Unterstützung
  • Einfach zu benutzen
  • Akzeptiert Kredit-/Debitkarten
  • Einfache Verifizierung
  • Gut etabliert

Nachteile

  • Höhere Gebühren
  • Beschränkte Währungen verfügbar

intelligent crypto
How are  regular people making returns of as much as 70% in a year with no risk?  By properly setting up a FREE Pionex grid bot - click the button to learn more.
Crypto arbitration still works like a charm, if you do it right! Check out Bitsgap, leading crypto arbitrage bot to learn the best way of doing it.

CaptainAltcoin's writers and guest post authors may or may not have a vested interest in any of the mentioned projects and businesses. None of the content on CaptainAltcoin is investment advice nor is it a replacement for advice from a certified financial planner. The views expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of CaptainAltcoin.com

Rene Peters

Rene Peters

Rene Peters is editor-in-chief of CaptainAltcoin and is responsible for editorial planning and business development. After his training as an accountant, he studied diplomacy and economics and held various positions in one of the management consultancies and in couple of digital marketing agencies. He is particularly interested in the long-term implications of blockchain technology for politics, society and the economy.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

CaptainAltcoin
Logo

Cex.io vs Coinbase – Comparison of Fees, Security, Features

Crypto boom from 2017 has spawned a lot of new crypto exchanges. Majority of those exchanges are not the best place to buy crypto because of their low security, high fees or outright scammy intentions of their founders.

Cex.io and Coinbase are two of the older and well reputed exchanges worth of your attention. Hence, we decided to compare Coinbase vs Cex.io as two legit and safe options for buying bitcoin and altcoins.

Comparison criteria

We have set Coinbase and Cexio to go head to head in most important categories when it comes to crypto exchanges: fees, deposit and withdrawal methods, supported currencies, supported countries, trust and reputation, regulatory status, security practices and general functions and features.

So, let’s head right into the Cex vs Coinbase duel.

Coinbase vs Cex.io: General info

Coinbase was launched in 2012 in San Francisco, California. As a company operating in the United States, Coinbase is required to comply with U.S. laws and regulations, including state money transmission laws and regulations, the USA Patriot Act, the Bank Secrecy Act, and is registered with FinCEN as a Money Services Business. These laws and regulations force accountability onto Coinbase. This is something that may be lacking from some of their offshore competitors in other countries with less strict regulations. It is widely considered as one of the best crypto exchanges in the market.

Started out in 2013, CEX.io is one of the oldest Bitcoin exchanges around.  CEX.io is based out of London, England.  It started out as a Bitcoin exchange and cloud mining provider; the first Bitcoin cloud mining company. Its mining pool known as Ghash.io, was so big at some point that it held 42% of the total network mining power.

However, the cloud mining operations were closed on January 2015. Today CEX.io operates solely as a Bitcoin exchange. CEX.io is registered with FINCEN and it applies AML (anti money laundering) and KYC (know your customer) policies, which means that you’ll need to verify your identity before you will be able to purchase Bitcoins via the exchange.

Coinbase vs Cex.io: Fees

Coinbase charges around 3.99% for credit/debit card purchases and 1.49% for bank transfer purchases.

Purchase MethodCoinbase Fees
U.S. Bank Account1.49%
($0.15 minimum)
Coinbase Wallet (U.S. Dollars)1.49%
Credit Card or Debit Card3.99%

Cex.io used to charge a lot of premium and had a bad reputation when it comes to fees. However, they have since changed their fee structure and charge less:

USD
Payment method Deposit Withdrawal
VISA2.99%Service charge:up to 3% + $ 1.20Commission:up to $ 3.80
MasterCard2.99%Service charge:up to 1.8% + $ 1.20Commission:up to 1.2% + $ 3.80
Bank transfer$ 00.3% + $ 25.00
ACH$ 0$ 0
EUR
VISA2.99%€ 0Service charge:up to 3% + € 1.50Commission:up to € 3.50
MasterCard2.99%Service charge:up to 1.8% + € 1.50Commission:up to 1.2% + € 3.50
Bank transfer€ 00.3% + € 25.00
SEPA€ 0€ 0

As for the trading fees, Cex.io charges following:

Maker Fee:0.16%
Taker Fee:0.25%

Deposit and withdrawal methods

Coinbase offers 3 payment methods: Debit card, bank account, or wire transfer. In this guide we will cover purchasing with a debit card or with a bank account.
As for withdrawal methods – you have one additional way to get your money from Coinbase by using PayPal.


3 times faster and countless times more private than Google Chrome - check out Brave Browser (+ earn some money by simply using it)


On the other side, Cex.io offers similar options, with more focus on instant purchases via credit cards

  • You can use credit cards with fees of 3.5% or ACH/Swift for commission-free transfers.

Withdrawal methods

  • VISA
Service charge:up to 3% + $ 1.20
Commission:up to $ 3.80
  • Mastercard
Service charge:up to 1.8% + $ 1.20
Commission:up to 1.2% + $ 3.80
  • Swift

Commission:0.3% + $ 25.00

  • ACH – no commission

Coinbase vs Cex: Supported Coins

Currently, coins listed on its non-Pro interface include BitcoinBitcoin Cash, Ethereum, Ethereum Classic, USD Coin, XRP, Stellar, Zcash, 0x, Litecoin, and the Basic Attention Token.

CEO.IX has been expanding their offering in the last year. You can pick from Bitcoin, Bitcoin Cash Ethereum, XRP, XLM, LTC, BTG, Tron, BTT, ATOM, MCH, BAT, Dash and Zcash.

Coinbase vs Cex.io: Supported countries

Coinbase serves customers in the following countries:

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Jersey, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom and the United States.

CEX.IO can be used by traders in more than 220 countries. However, some countries are not supported on CEX.IO and these include Afghanistan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Burundi, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Central African Republic, Côte d’Ivoire, Cuba, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Iran, Iraq, Kenya, North Korea, Laos, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Nigeria, São Tomé and Príncipe, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Tanzania, Tunisia, Uganda, Vietnam, Vanuatu, Yemen and Zimbabwe.


Read our comprehensive guide on best cryptocurrency exchanges.


Due to regulatory restrictions, US traders are not accepted on the CEX.IO exchange.

Buying limits

Coinbase does not clearly define limits for new users on their site. Instead, limits can vary depending on your country, account verification, buying history, and account age. To apply for higher limits you will have to verify your identity. Once you do, a fully verified US residents can transaction up to $50,000 per week, while verified customers from EU may have a maximum of $30,000 in their account at any time. You can check their limits through their account.

Depending on your account type, Cex.io limits you differently.

Basic: Basic accounts can buy up to $400 worth of bitcoins per day, and up to $2,000 per month. Basic accounts are not able to purchase via bank transfer. Verified: Verified accounts can purchase up to $10,000 worth of bitcoins per day, or up to $100,000 per month via both credit card and bank transfer.

Customer support

Coinbase customer support is handled through email, and in our personal experiences, we’ve typically received responses from support within 24-72 hours. They also have an extensive FAQ for general questions.

CEX.IO provides support almost exclusively over email. Their agents are usually quick in reacting to user queries and the service runs smoothly. The help centre and FAQ section are very extensive and helpful with a wealth of helpful information including helpful guides to subjects like margin trading.

Trust and reputation

Coinbase enjoys an excellent reputation and trust as a registered and regulated company with well-known VCs as investors, transparent team and immaculate track record (with minor, anecdotal complaints from individual customers).

GET READY FOR THE TAX SEASON! CryptoTrader.Tax takes away the pain of preparing your crypto taxes. Simply connect your exchanges, import trades, and download your tax report in minutes. Use CRYPTOTAX10 for 10% off!

Coinbase is a Bitcoin company based in San Francisco, which means that is required to comply with US laws and regulations, at both a federal and state level.  Here are some of the regulatory bodies, laws, and regulations that Coinbase complies with:

  • It complies with state money transmission laws and regulations.
  • It complies with the USA Patriot Act.
  • It complies with the Bank Secrecy Act.
  • It is registered with FinCEN as a Money Services Business.

CEX.IO is now 7 years old and has been ticking since 2013. It pivoted from their initial service – cloud mining to launch a crypto exchange. At first, they offered both services, but in recent years they have dropped cloud mining to focus on the exchange. Cex.io is registered in London and uses it as its official base. It is also important to note that CEX.io is registered as a Money Services Business with FinCEN USA as well.

Coinbase vs Cex.io: Security

Coinbase segregates customer funds from company operational funds.  These customer funds are held in custodial bank accounts.  This means they will not use funds of yours to operate their business.  They also claim, “Even if Coinbase were to becomes insolvent, the funds held in the custodial bank accounts could not be claimed by Coinbase or its creditors.  The Funds held in those accounts would be returnable to Coinbase’s customers.”

98% of customers’ cryptocurrency funds are stored in secure offline cold storage.  These cryptocurrencies are held on multiple hardware wallets and paper wallets.  The physical cryptocurrency wallets are then stored in vaults and safety deposit boxes around the world.  These measures protect customers’ funds from being lost or stolen by hackers.

The remaining portion of cryptocurrency, that is stored online, is fully insured by a syndicate of Lloyd’s of London.

CEX.IO is implementing best security practices from the industry: storing user funds in cold storages, using 2FA authentication and encrypts all data transfers. They do not, however, put too much of emphasis on their security measures in their marketing materials which is odd, since most of other exchanges like to boast about their top-notch security.

CEX has suffered at least one hacking incident, although this happened way back in 2013 when the platform was in its infancy. The vulnerability was patched at that time, and there have been no reported security incidents since that time.

Other features

Coinbase keeps expanding their overall service repertoire with new utilities like Coinbase Custody, Coinbase Staking, Coinbase Earn, Coinbase Card.

Cex.io on the other side has focused more on expanding in the same vertical by adding margin trading but also staking as a service (for XTZ).

Conclusion

So who wins the battle between Cex.io and Coinbase?

  • In terms of fees – Coinbase is better.
  • In terms of supported currencies – pretty much a tie since both expanded their offering with all major tokens. However, since Cex.io offers XRP as well, it edges out Coinbase in this section.
  • In terms of regulatory compliance and licensing: both are great but Coinbase holds an upper hand.
  • In terms of customer support: Both are of similar quality so it is a tie.
  • When it comes to security in the Cex vs Coinbase battle: Coinbase is slightly better as they never had any hacks in the past, unlike Cex.io that suffered couple of small hacker intrusions.
  • Customer support: another tie since both platforms use pretty much same system (email) with similar reaction time to use inquires.
  • Overall reputation: Coinbase is much better known beyond crypto so they take a W in this one.

Pros and Cons

Coinbase

Pros

  • Excellent Reputation
  • FDIC Insured
  • Easy to Use
  • Very Secure
  • Accepts Credit / Debit Cards

Cons

  • Slow Customer Support
  • Limited Currencies Available

Cex.io

Pros

  • Good Support
  • Easy to Use
  • Accepts Credit / Debit Cards
  • Easy Verification
  • Well Established

Cons

  • Higher Fees
  • Limited Currencies Available

Enjoy an anonymous cryptocurrency betting & casino in one place with 20+ cryptos available and get a generous Welcome Package up to 7 BTC now!
Use promo code CPTCN1X to get 125% 1st deposit bonus!
trade crypto on etoro
eToro Risk Warning: 75% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider. You should consider whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money.

 

CaptainAltcoin's writers and guest post authors may or may not have a vested interest in any of the mentioned projects and businesses. None of the content on CaptainAltcoin is investment advice nor is it a replacement for advice from a certified financial planner. The views expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of CaptainAltcoin.com

Rene Peters is editor-in-chief of CaptainAltcoin and is responsible for editorial planning and business development. After his training as an accountant, he studied diplomacy and economics and held various positions in one of the management consultancies and in couple of digital marketing agencies. He is particularly interested in the long-term implications of blockchain technology for politics, society and the economy.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

      Leave a reply